Go to page content

Advisory Board



The Advisory Board proposes individuals who have rendered outstanding services to the preservation of world peace through their personal commitment. The Advisory Board accepts nominations for the election of the laureate from anyone. Proposals must be accompanied by a detailed statement of the reasons for the nomination, including achievements for peace and justice.

Hon.-Prof. Dr. 
Hans-Gert  Pöttering

Former President of the European Parliament
Representative of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung for European Affairs

Hans-Gert Pöttering was born on 15 September 1945 in Bersenbrück (Lower Saxony). He studied law, politics and history at the Universities of Bonn and Geneva and spent a research period at Columbia University in New York. He was a Member of the European Parliament unintermitted from 1979 to 2014 and its President from 2007 to 2009. Before that, he was President of the EPP-ED Group in the European Parliament from 1999 to 2007. From January 2010 to January 2018, he was Chairman of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation and is now its Commissioner for European Affairs.

Hans-Gert Pöttering is the initiator and Chairman of the Advisory board of the House of European History, which was opened in Brussels in May 2017. In addition, Hans-Gert Pöttering has been Chairman of the “Former Members Association”, the association of former Members of the European Parliament in Brussels, since May 2018.

Dr. Ruben Reike

Dr. Ruben Reike studied Political Science, Economic Policy and Modern and Contemporary History at the Universities of Bielefeld and Münster.

He obtained a Master’s degree in International Relations with a focus on peace and conflict studies in Brisbane/Australia in 2008.

After working for Amnesty International, for the European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights and for Global Action to Prevent War, he completed his doctorate at Oxford University in 2014 with a thesis on the international responsibility to protect and on the prevention of international crimes.

He then conducted research on the individualization of war as part of an ERC Advanced Grant at the European University Institute in Florence.

Since 2018, Dr Reike has been working in science policies. First at the Science Council and since 2020 at the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

Dr. Katrin Eggenberger

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Justice and Culture of the Principality of Liechtenstein

Dr. Katrin Eggenberger was born on September 8, 1982 in Chur (Switzerland). She studied Financial Management, Political Science, International Affairs and Political Economy at The Ohio State University, the University of Liechtenstein, the University of St. Gallen, Harvard University and conducted research at Princeton and Harvard and at the University of Cambridge, as well as LSE in the UK. Her PhD was co-supervised by Nobel Laureate Joseph E. Stiglitz. In 2019, she was selected among 16 worldwide to complete the four-month Maurice R. Greenberg Yale World Fellows Program at Yale University.

After holding positions at LGT Group and VP Bank in Vaduz and later as a member of the Management at Notenstein Private Bank in St. Gallen, she worked at the World Economic Forum in Geneva from 2016 to 2019 as Chief of Staff to the Founder and Executive Chairman, was responsible for the Community of Chairpersons, which consists of over 100 of the world’s most influential Chairpersons of major companies, and UpLink, a project focusing on the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). In 2019, she responded the FBP’s call to join the Government of Liechtenstein. As Minister, she presided over the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Justice and Culture.

She has been a top athlete in artistic swimming as well as in competitive swimming. She trained professionally in the US and Japan but also in other places. She participated in two World Cups, three World Championships and numerous European Championships.